Day: April 11, 2018

16 SLFP MPs quit national government

The sixteen SLFP Ministers and MPs who voted in favour of the no-confidence motion against the Prime Minister will step down from their posts in the National Government from midnight today (11).

Up to 200 feared dead in Algeria plane crash

At least 100 people were killed in a military plane crash in Algeria on Wednesday, local media said.

Sri Lanka plans to introduce E-motoring for vehicle registration

The Sri Lankan Motor Traffic Department is planning to introduce E-motoring system for the registration of vehicles through an online system by 2020, an official said on Tuesday.

New cabinet to be sworn in tomorrow

Political sources confirm a new cabinet will be sworn in tomorrow.

Sri Lanka targets Saudi tourism market

Sri Lanka Tourism Promotion Bureau has successfully concluded a two-day promotional mission to Saudi Arabia as part of its on-going efforts to develop new markets and increase the number of visitors and spend from the region to Sri Lanka.

President’s men to cross over to JO – MR

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, yesterday, said that the SLFP MPS, including six ministers, who voted for the no-faith motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe last week, would cross over to the Opposition when Parliament met again.