Day: November 14, 2018

Tillakaratne Dilshan joins SLPP

Former Sri Lanka cricket captain Tilakaratne Dilshan has obtained membership of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP).

No confidence motion with 122 signatures sent to President – Speaker

The Office of Speaker Karu Jayasuriya says the documents related to the No-Confidence Motion against Mahinda Rajapaksa and his Cabinet that was passed has been directed to President Maithripala Sirisena.

122 MPs voted in favour of no confidence motion against PM & Cabinet – Ranil

UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe said voice vote was taken by the Speaker on the No Confidence Motion submitted in Parliament against the Government and that 122 MPs informed the Speaker that they voted in favour of it.

Wasantha Senanayake and Wadiwel Suresh to resign from minister post

Minister of Tourism and Wildlife Wasantha Senanayake says he will resign from his ministerial portfolio as he believes that the incumbent government does not have a majority in Parliament.

Government has no majority in Parliament: Karu

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today announced that the no-confidence motion brought in against Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapakse and the Government passed in Parliament.

Fowzie, Manusha and Piyasena crossover; Wasantha goes independent

Ministers A. H. M. Fowzie, Piyasena Gamage and MP Manusha Nanayakkara crossed over to the Opposition bench at the parliamentary session today (14).

JVP tables No Confidence motion against PM

The Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) has decided to hand over a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa today, JVP MP Vijitha Herath said.

President convenes National Security Council

The National Security Council convened a meeting yesterday (13) under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo, the President’s Media Division said.