Sri Lanka Parliament approves Domestic Debt Restructuring programme

Parliament of Sri Lanka

The Resolution on Domestic Debt Optimization (DDO) was passed in Parliament of Sri Lanka with a majority of 60 votes with 122 members voting for and 62  against.

Some members were absent during voting.

The Chairman of the Committee on Public Finance Harsha De Silva voted against. Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Vadivel Suresh and MP Sudarshani Fernandopulle voted in favor.

Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) members were absent during voting time. A total number of 40 MPs were absent during voting, while the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) and MP Gajendrakumar Ponnambalam voted against.

SJB MP Rajitha Senaratne was a notable absentee.