Sanga nominated for ICC People’s Choice award

Kumar Sangakkara nominated for peoples choice award

Sri Lankan cricketer Kumar Sangakkara is among five international stars nominated for this year’s people’s choice award, the International Cricket Council said.

Others are India’s legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, South Africa’s duo Vernon Philander and Jacques Kallis and England’s James Anderson, the Dubai-based ICC said.

Former skipper Sangakkara (2011) and Tendulkar (2010) have won the LG People’s Choice Award in the past.

The short-list, nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts headed by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, along with Sri Lanka’s MarvanAtapattu, England’s Clare Connor, West Indies Carl Hooper and Australia’s Tom Moody was selected using criteria set out by LG and the ICC.

Fans can decide on the winner by unity to decide the winner, by accessing an application: ICC’s official Facebook page

Voting will be open until midnight UAE time on August 31, with the winner to be announced on September 15 at the LG ICC Awards in Colombo. (LBO)