Sri Lanka cricket team to be honoured in Parliament today

Sri Lanka Parliament

A red carpet welcome will be arranged at Parliament today (9) for the Sri Lankan cricket team having won the ICC T20 World Cup on Sunday (6). Speaker, Chamal Rajapaksa, will welcome the team and Members of Parliament from both the government and the Opposition will participate in congratulating the national team for their outstanding accomplishment, a matter of national pride.

The team will be taken to the Speaker’s Guest Gallery at 5.00 p.m. and will remain there until 7:00 p.m. Leader of the House, Nimal Siripala de Silva, will move the House to a congratulatory vote, which will be seconded by Acting Opposition Whip, John Amaratunga.

This will be followed by all members congratulating the team on their exceptional performance and a highly noteworthy accomplishment.

The Sri Lankan cricket team that won the 1996 World Cup were also honoured in a similar fashion.

(Ceylon Today)