Sri Lankans transferred to detention on Nauru

Sri Lankans transferred to detention on Nauru

A group of 25 Sri Lankan asylum seekers have been transferred from Darwin to the detention centre on Nauru, the Australian Immigration Department says.

The group is the latest to be sent to Nauru as part of the Federal Government’s offshore processing policy.

Most have been flown from Christmas Island to Nauru, but some have also been taken from detention in Darwin.

The Department says transfers to Nauru will happen regularly as part of the Government’s new policy.

The transfer comes after another asylum seeker boat was intercepted west of Christmas Island with 11 people on board yesterday afternoon.

The group will be sent to Christmas Island for health, security and identity checks.


ABC News