22nd Amendment to the Constitution passed in Sri Lanka Parliament

22nd amendment in Sri Lanka Parliament

The 22nd Amendment to the constitution was passed with amendments by a two-thirds majority in Parliament of Sri Lanka shedding a few powers of the Executive President.

174 members of parliament had voted in favour of the bill while only MP Sarath Weerasekara voted against it and 44 members including former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa were absent during the vote.