Defence Services Rugby team bags President Rajapaksa trophy

Onlanka News
– By Janaka Alahapperuma
(Pix by: Nalin Hewapathirana)

Defence Services (DS) rugby team beat the Sri Lanka Rugby Football Union (SLRFU)- President’s XV at the second annual encounter of the Presidential Cup Rugby match at the Army Headquarters grounds on 5th August.

President Mahinda Rajapaksa participated the occasion as the Chief Guest. The Chief of Defence Staff and Air Force Commander Air Chief Marshal Roshan Goonetileke, Army Commander Lieutenant General Jagath Jayasuriya and Navy Commander Vice Admiral Thisara Samarasinghe also participated as distinguished guests at the event.

Defence Services thrashed SLRFU President’s team 39 to 10 to claim the trophy from President Rajapaksa. DS team was captained by Captain Meepage of the Sri Lanka Army.

Air Chief Marshal Roshan Goonetileke is the President for both DS team and SLRFU team. Best ruggerites were selected from all the prominent rugby teams in the island for the SLRFU combined team.Last year the President’s Trophy was snatched by DS team captained by Yoshitha Rajapaksa. C.B. Ratnayake, Minister of Sports was seen among the spectators.