Karu elected as new Speaker

Karu Jayasuriya

UNP MP and former Public Administration Minister Karu Jayasuriya was appointed uncontested as the Speaker of new parliament a short while ago.

His name was proposed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe and seconded by former opposition leader Nimal Siripala De Silva.

The first sitting of the Eighth Parliament was commenced today (1) at 9.00 a.m. with the participation of President Maithripala Sirisena.

The newly elected Parliamentarians will take oath during the first session.

President Maithripala Sirisena is scheduled to address the parliament at 3.00 p.m.