President appoints new members to Election Commision and Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka government state logo

Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe appointed members to the Election Commission and the Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka (HRCSL) yesterday (June 29).

Retired Supreme Court judge, L.T.B. Dehideniya has been selected as the chairman of HRCSL.

The newly appointed members of the HRCSL are Mr. Nimalasena Gardier Pundihewa, Mr. Thaiyamuttu Thanaraj, Prof. Fathima Farzana Hanifa, and Dr. Gehan Dinuk Gunatillake.

Meanwhile, former Additional Commissioner-General of Elections R.M.A.L. Rathnayake has been appointed as the chairman of the Election Commission of Sri Lanka.

Simultaneously, M.A. Pathmasiri Chandrawansha Perera and Ameer Mohommed Faiz were appointed to serve as members of the Election Commision.