Education Officials Commissioned as Brevet Colonels

Education Officials Commissioned as Brevet Colonels

Under the guidance of Secretary Defence and Urban Development Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa, 23 Class 1 Principals of Sri Lanka Education Administrative Service and officers of the Ministry of Education were Commissioned as Brevet Colonels at a ceremony held at the Defence Ministry premises yesterday (08th October).

They were thus commissioned as Brevet Colonels in recognition of the services rendered by them towards the betterment of the National Cadet Corp (NCC).

The newly commissioned officers comprised of an Additional Secretary to the Ministry of Education, the Commissioner General of Educational Publications and 21 Principles of leading schools around the country.

In the long history of the NCC since its inception in 1881, a number of eminent personnel have been awarded with the prestigious rank of Brevet Colonels. Colonel RBW Narampanawa, Colonel SLB Amaranayaka, Colonel GW Rajapaksa and Colonel EA Perusinghe are some of the officers who were thus commissioned in the past.

Speaking at the event Secretary Defence said that by engaging in extra-curricular activities like cadetting students can develop their leadership qualities and build self confidence. He also said during his school days his Principal, Colonel VS Kudaligama was a military officer too and he had seen a clear difference between him and the ordinary Principals. He expressed confidence that the new officers will enhance their knowledge of the military service and work towards the betterment of the country.

The commissioning ceremony was organized by the National Cadet Corps. Secretary to the Ministry of Education Mr.Gotabaya Jayarathne, Additional Secretary (Defence) Mr.S Hettiarachchi,  Director General of the National Cadet Corps Major General Gamini Jayasundara, senior Cadet Corp officers and family members of newly commissioned officers were also present at the ceremony.

SLEAS Class I Principals & MOE Officers

Ser Name Position
01 Bvt. Col R Chandrasekara Principal, Kingswood College, Kandy
02 Bvt. Col HAU Gunasekara Principal, Royal College, Colombo
03 Bvt. Col HU Premathilake Additional Secretary, Ministry of Education
04 Bvt. Col T Hewawithana Commissioner General of Educational Publications
05 Bvt. Col JHMW Ranjith Principal, Nalanda College, Colombo
06 Bvt. Col LMD Dharmasena Principal, Ananda Collage, Colombo
07 Bvt. Col HAH Jayawardane Principal, Rathnawali Balika V, Gampaha
08 Bvt. Col WDPK Samarasinghe Principal, Devi Balika V, Colombo
09 Bvt. Col SM Keerthirathna Principal, Dharmaraja College, Kandy
10 Bvt. Col JDN Thilakasiri Principal, Rahula College, Matara
11 Bvt. Col EMS Ekanayake Principal, Richmand College, Galle
12 Bvt. Col UMP Upashantha Principal, Ashoka College, Colombo
13 Bvt. Col EWLK Egodawela Pushpadana Balika V, Kandy
14 Bvt. Col BRM Ranasinghe Principal, St. Joseph’s MV, Kegelle
15 Bvt. Col KG Wimalasena Principal, Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya
16 Bvt. Col M Abegunasekara Principal, Girls’ High School, Kandy
17 Bvt. Col PGS Banda Principal, Poramadulla MV, Hanguranketha
18 Bvt. Col SM Dahanayake Principal, Sangamitta Balika V, Galle
19 Bvt. Col SW Senevirathna Principal, Southland Balika V, Galle
20 Bvt. Col YAND Yapa Principal, Thurstan Collage, Colombo
21 Bvt. Col HJMSSK Aviruppola Principal, Vishaka Vidyalaya, Colombo
22 Bvt. Col AGN Jayaweera Principal, Dharmaloka MV, Kelaniya
23 Bvt. Col DMD Dissanayake Principal, D.S. Senanayake V, Colombo