More UPFA parliamentarians join with President Sirisena

President Maithripala Sirisena

More Parliamentarians of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) including some ministers and deputy ministers today defected and pledged to support President Maithripala Sirisena.

Parliamentarians Felix Perera, Lalith Dissanyake, Neomal Perera, Dayasritha Tissera, Thilanga Sumathipala, and A. R. M. Abdul Cader met the President at the President Secretariat Office in Colombo, this morning.

While addressing the gathering, Felix Perera said that they will unconditionally back President Siripala’s 100-day work programme.

Signalling another mass defection fromUPFA, a group of over 20 MPs pledged their support to President Sirisena, yesterday as well. MPs S.B. Nawinne, Vijith Vijithamuni Soysa, Piyasena Gamage, Reginold Cooray, Dr Sarath Amunugama, Janaka Bandara Tennakoon, Athauda Seneviratne and North Western Province Chief Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara were among the group who met with Sirisena at his residence.

(Ada Derana)