Govt to appoint members to National Police Commission

The government has decided to constitute the National Police commission under the 18th amendment to the constitution. The Parliamentary council has given it recommendations to the names proposed by President Mahinda Rajapaksha.

An official of the Parliament said that the Parliamentary council which met yesterday gave its recommendation for the following to be appointed Former Ambassador and the President’s Council Mr. Senaka Walgampaya is to be appointed as the Chairman of the Commission The other members are Ven. Elle Gunawansa Thera, Mr.D.Dissanayake, Mrs. Charmaine Madurasinghe, Mr.R. Sivaraman, Mr.M.M.M Mowjood and the former chairman ITN Mr.Newton Goonaratna.


Source: Government News Portal