Several SLFP central committee members sacked

SLFP logo

Several more UPFA Parliamentarians say they have been removed from the central committee of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP).

Former Minsiters SM Chandrasena, TB Ekanayake and Salinda Dissanayake have been removed from the SLFP central committee. They have received letters informing of the decision today.

Earlier it was reported that former Minister Bandula Gunawardena has been removed from the SLFP Central Committee.

The UPFA MP said he has received a letter notifying him of this decision.

The former Minister of Education has been a vociferous opponent of the SLFP hierarchy’s decision to accept Ministerial portfolios and form a National Government with the United National Party (UNP).

He has also openly supported the move, by certain coalition partners of the UPFA, to appoint Mahajana Eksath Peramuna leader Dinesh Gunawardena as the Opposition Leader, replacing Nimal Siripala de Silva.

Gunawardena is among several SLFP Parliamentarians supporting former President Mahinda Rajapaksa and has backed calls for the latter to be named as the SLFP Prime Ministerial candidate.

(Ada Derana)