UNP MPs granted bail

Court decision

Six persons, including four United National Party (UNP) MPs, who were accused of forcibly entering a government facility in the Colombo Port were granted bail yesterday (27) by Colombo Fort Magistrate, Thilina Gamage.

The Colombo Fort Magistrate released the UNP MPs Ravi Karunanayake, Namal Bandara, R. Yogarajan and Ajith P. Perera on personal bails of Rs 1 million each.

The Fort Magistrate last Thursday (23) ordered the MPs to appear before the Court yesterday for allegedly forcing their way into the Defence Training School of the Sri Lanka Ports Authority in Slave Island, Colombo on 21 October.

The MPs visited the facility on 21 October on an unscheduled fact finding mission to verify the information they had received that the facility is being used as a centre for organizing the campaign for the upcoming Presidential Election.

(Ceylon Today)