Dayasiri tops Kurunegala District preference votes

Dayasiri Jayasekara

Former MP Dayasiri Jayasekara gained the highest preference votes in the Kurunegala District with a massive 336,327 votes as fellow UPFA candidate and rival Johan Fernando managed to secure less than half that number.

Fernando obtained 134,443 preference votes – over 200,000 votes less than Dayasiri, who appears to have a significant lead in the preference vote battle taking place in the province.

The rivalry between the Jayaskara and Johan Fernanado was much talked about as both prominent UPFA candidates are vying for the post of Chief Minister of the North Western Province.

Following the announcing of the Provincial polls Jayasekara resigned from Parliament to contest the North Western provincial Council under the ruling party.

It was no secret that the firebrand politician was aiming for the post of Chief Minister, which was also the goal of Johan, the son of Minister Johnston Fernando.


Dayasiri Jayasekara โ€“ 336,327
Johan Fernando โ€“ 134,443
D.B. Herath โ€“ 60,960


J.C. Aluwatuwala – 23,960
Prasanna Samal Senarath – 21,958
Preethi Mohan – 20,464


(Courtesy: Ada Derana)