Dilan Perera resigns from COPE

Dilan Perera

MP Dilan Perera has resigned from the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) today (March 21) in protest against the appointment of ineligible members.

Several MPs have resigned from COPE starting from Monday (March 18).

Names of MPs who have resigned from COPE thus far:

  1. Eran Wickramaratne
  2. Dayasiri Jayasekara
  3. S.M. Marikkar
  4. Professor Charitha Herath
  5. Gamini Waleboda
  6. Shanakiyan Rasamanickam
  7. Hesha Withanage
  8. Wasantha Yapa Bandara
  9. Duminda Dissanayake
  10. Anura Kumara Dissanayake
  11. Dilan Perera

These resignations come with the appointment of Rohitha Abeygunawardena, a ruling party MP, as the COPE chairman, despite the previous government adopting a practice of appointing an opposition member to chair the committee to strengthen the principle that the legislature must be a check and balance on the executive arm of government.