Four more Ministers and Six Deputies sworn in

Onlanka News
– By Janaka Alahapperuma – (Pix by: Sudath Silva)

Four more Ministers and six Deputy Ministers were sworn in before President Mahinda Rajapaksa at the President’s House this morning on 5th April increasing the size of the Cabinet to 42 members.

Kandy District MP and former Minister and Media Spokesman on National Security, Keheliya Rambukwella has been appointed as the Minister of Media and Information and S.B. Dissanayaka appointed as the Minister of Higher Education. Leader of the Lanka Sama Samaja Party, Tissa Vitharana (National list MP) was sworn in as the Minister of Technology and Research and the leader of the Ceylon Workers’ Congress, Armugam Thondaman (Nuwara Eliya District MP) was given the ministerial portfolio of the Livestock and Rural Community Development.

Mean while six more Deputy Ministers were also sworn in this morning at the same ceremony.

Dr Sarath Amunugama- Deputy Minister of the Finance and Planning

Dr Mervyn Silva- Deputy Minister of Highways

Mahindananda Aluthgamage- Deputy Minister of Youth Affairs

Faizer Mustapa- Deputy Minister of Environment

Jagath Balasooriya- Deputy Minister of Labour Relations and Productivity Improvement

M.K.D.S. Gunawardena- Deputy Minister of Buddha Sasana and Religious Affairs

Following the swearing in ceremony, President Mahinda Rajapaksa chaired the inaugural Cabinet meeting of the new UPFA Government.