Mattakkuliya mob attack on Police station: Court gives bail to 176 suspects

The Colombo Crimes Division (CCD) investigating into Saturday’s attack on the Mattakkuliya Police station yesterday produced 176 suspects including several women before Colombo Additional Magistrate Lal Ranasinghe Bandara.

After lengthy submissions by CCD officials and the Counsel for the suspects the Magistrate granted Rs 50,000 each personal bail for the suspects. Granting bail for the suspects the Magistrate directed them to appear in court again on July 28.

The Magistrate also directed the investigators to file a comprehensive report in connection with their investigations on the next date. Senior SP Ranaweera of the CCD who appeared for the prosecution with CCD, OIC Hemantha Dickovita filed a report in connection with their ongoing investigations into the Mattakkuliya Police Station attack and said that three of the suspects now in custody had weapons in their possession. The other suspects had damaged public property. Answering the Magistrate Senior SP Ranaweera said that they have not produced any of the suspects before an identification parade.

Inspector General of Police Mahinda Balasuriya at a conference said that a joint Police and Army contingent detained about 1000 persons including women allegedly involved in the attack on the Police station. After recording their statements the police arrested 176 suspects who were allegedly involved in the attack.

IGP Mahinda Balasuriya said that even after the Police had told the protesters that the suspect who was taken into police custody was safe, the mob stormed the police station and attacked.

Later the STF and Army had moved into the police premises in order to bring the situation under control, the IGP said. Attorneys Chandra Senanayake, Sanjey Gamage, Gunaratne Wanninayake, Anton Senanayake, Mervyn Silva, Weerasena Ranabahu, Hussain Azar and Upul Priyasantha appeared for the suspects. The case will be called again on July 28.

Daily News