No-confidence motion defeated

Sri Lanka Parliament

The no-confidence motion moved by the main opposition United National Party against the government was defeated by 94 votes in Parliament a short while ago.

The UNP, Tamil National Alliance and the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna voted for the motion while Jathika Hela Urumaya and National Freedom Front were absent.

(Courtesy: DM Online)