Permission to import 10 essentials through open accounts

Essential food items in Sri Lanka

Permission has been granted to import 10 essential items including rice, sugar, wheat flour and dhal through open accounts with effect from the 01st of July, the Minister of Trade says.

The 10 essential items are as follows:

  1. Rice
  2. Wheat flour
  3. White sugar
  4. Red dhal
  5. Milk powder
  6. Big onions
  7. Potatoes
  8. Dried chillies
  9. Dried sprats
  10. Watana dhal