President appoints 17 new Cabinet Ministers

Sri Lanka government state logo

A total of 17 new cabinet ministers were sworn in before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the President’s House in Colombo a short while ago.

However, the President’s Media Division stated there were no changes in the portfolios held by the President, Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, Foreign Minister Prof. G.L. Peiris and Finance Minister Ali Sabry.

See the full list of new ministers below:

  1. Dinesh Gunawardena – Minister of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government
  2. Douglas Devananda – Minister of Fisheries
  3. Dr. Ramesh Pathirana – Minister of Education and Plantation Industries
  4. Prasanna Ranatunga – Minister of Public Security and Tourism
  5. Dilum Amunugama – Minister of Transport and Industries
  6. Kanaka Herath – Minister of Highways
  7. Vidura Vickramanayake – Minister of Labour
  8. Janaka Wakkumbura – Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation
  9. Shehan Semasinghe – Minister of Trade and Samurdhi Development
  10. Mohan Priyadarshana de Silva – Minister of Water Supplies
  11. Wimalaweera Dissanayake – Minister of Wildlife and Forest Conservation
  12. Kanchana Wijesekara – Minister of Power and Energy
  13. Thenuka Vidanagamage – Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs
  14. Dr. Nalaka Godahewa – Minister of Mass Media
  15. Prof. Channa Jayasumana – Minister of Health
  16. Naseer Ahamed – Minister of Environment
  17. Pramitha Bandara Tennakoon – Minister of Ports and Shipping