Sri Lanka names Chandimal, Mathews, Dickwella for New Zealand test

Dinesh Chandimal

Sri Lanka’s cricket selectors on Friday recalled former captain Dinesh Chandimal in a 15-man squad for the first test against New Zealand after he was dropped for two big series because of poor batting form.

The selectors announced that batsman Angelo Mathews, who missed the last test tour to South Africa, is also included in the squad. Niroshan Dickwella, a limited-overs specialist who was dropped for the World Cup because of poor form, was also selected for the longer format after a string of good scores for Sri Lanka A. He scored two centuries and a half-century on that tour.

There are nine specialist batsmen, three fast bowlers and three spin bowlers in Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan and Lasith Embuldeniya.

The first test of the two-match series begins in Galle on Aug. 14.



Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Janith Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya De Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Lasith Embuldeniya, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Oshada Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando.