Sri Lanka railways

Police step in as railway strike action reaches day four

The Railway Department states that nearly 20 trains to be used by office goers have been added to the service today for the convenience of the commuters.

South Korea flag

Korea offers USD 14 Million for Garbage Collection Compactors to Sri Lanka

The Export-Import Bank of Korea approved USD 14 million for supply of garbage collection compactors to Sri Lanka. This project will provide 190 garbage compactors to local authorities in all nine Provinces of Sri Lanka in order to collect and transfer large amount of waste to dumping sites in an efficient and economical manner.

Suranga Lakmal

Perera lauds Lakmal after emphatic ODI win

Dharamsala: New captain Thisara Perera Sunday hailed Suranga Lakmal as Sri Lanka’s premier fast bowler after he led the visitors to a seven-wicket win over India in the first one-day international.

Sagala Ratnayake

Foreign experts to fight bribes, corruption

The Government was mulling obtaining the assistance of external experts to carry out investigations on corruption, Minister of Law and Order Sagala Ratnayake said over the weekend.

Hambantota port

Sri Lanka hands port formally to Chinese firm, receives $292 million

Sri Lanka formally handed over commercial activities in its main southern port to a Chinese company on Saturday and received $292 million out of a $1.12 billion deal, Finance Minister Mangala Samaraweera said.

Ranil Wickremesinghe - Prime Minister of Sri Lanka

Swift relief for farmers affected by extreme weather- PM

A mechanism to provide relief for farming families affected by extreme weather will be developed within two weeks, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe said.

Parliament of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka parliament backs tax exemptions for port deal with Chinese

Sri Lanka’s parliament approved on Friday a raft of tax concessions for a Chinese-led joint venture which will handle the southern port of Hambantota under a $1.1 billion deal that has sparked public anger and concerns in India and elsewhere.

Manodh Monaragala

Sri Lankan pleads guilty to bomb threat on flight

A Sri Lankan man who threatened to set off a bomb onboard a flight from Melbourne is facing a maximum 20 years’ jail after pleading guilty to attempting to take control of an aircraft.

Sena Yaddehige

Electric car plant, lithium battery factory in Lanka soon – Dr Yaddehige

Richard Pieris & Company PLC plans to invest between Rs 15 to 20 billion in several unique projects in the next three years that will see electric cars, lithium batteries and Oud perfume manufactured in Sri Lanka

IMF - International Monetary Fund

IMF approves US$ 251.4 mn to Lanka

The IMF Executive Board completed the third review of Sri Lanka’s Extended Fund Facility arrangement on Wednesday (6), enabling the disbursement of US$ 251.4 million to the country.

Sri Lankan Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe

Ranil to apply brakes on the rising cost of living To make special statement tomorrow

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will make a special statement tomorrow (8) morning in Parliament on the increased cost of living and the Government’s decision to import rice and coconut as a temporary measure to provide relief for consumers.

Chinese tourists in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka again named Asia’s most sought travel destination

Sri Lanka has continued to receive a number of achievements for its recognition as a compact travel destination across the globe, and received another endorsement recently becoming one of the emerging destinations and one of the most popular global destinations from the key findings of the 2018 Virtuoso Luxe- Australian edition report.

US State Logo

Resident US advisor here to assist CIABOC: Sri Lanka categorized among the worst

The US State Department Special Project has made provision for a Resident Legal Advisor in Colombo to provide anti-corruption and asset recovery training and also support the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery and Corruption (CIABOC).

China Sri Lanka

Chinese enterprises job fair to be held in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka and China will jointly conduct “the First Chinese Enterprise Job Fair in Sri Lanka,” organised by the Chinese Chamber of Commerce in Sri Lanka and Sri Lankan Ministry of Skills Development and Vocational Training, an official said Tuesday.

Hambantota port

Sri Lanka to hand Hambantota port to Chinese firm, receive $300 million

Sri Lanka will hand over commercial activities in its main southern port to a Chinese company on Saturday (9) and receive around $300 million out of a $1.1 billion deal soon after, Ports Minister Mahinda Samarasinghe said.

Weerakumara Dissanayake

Weerakumara, fourth NFF leader to challenge Wimal

A fourth prominent member of the National Freedom Front (NFF) is challenging the party leader Wimal Weerawansa.